Finding strength to move forward when stumbling blocks get in your way.


Image

It’s a dreary day here in North Texas. Sharp contrast to the weather earlier this week. We have gone from pleasant and sunny to cold damp and cloudy. I guess I am one of those people who’s mood it greatly determined by the weather outside. The other day when it was near 80° outside I was all about cleaning out my front flower bed and get it ready for planting. Today I don’t want to do a single thing productive.

My oldest has been saving up for a video game she has really been wanting. Turns out everyone really wants this game and we can’t find it in-stock anywhere. A certain major retailer got our hopes up only to be dashed with in 30 minutes. Hard lesson that life isn’t always fair or kind. She is very very sad but understands we will continue checking the stores when they get new shipments.What makes matters worse is her brother found and purchased the game he had saved his money to buy. 

We all make choices in life and the truth of the matter is there is no do overs. It has taken me a long time to come to terms with that reality. No fairy is going to come and zap your troubles away. The question we have to ask ourselves is do we brood over it or do  we buck up and live with the reality we have made?

How we handle disappointments is also a life lesson. Sometimes I wonder if we are doing our kids any favors in our society today by the ” everyone gets a prize” mentality. The real world isn’t like that and we are raising our kids to live in the real world. When they get out of school and go to work the boss won’t say you all tried so hard so you all get the promotion. I am all for recognizing good efforts with a pat on the back and words of acknowledgement. That is important. I try to tell my kids during disappointing times that these things happen and we have to move on or be patient. Some disappointments are out of our control like the stores being  out of stock on a game. Some are of our own doing. We need to learn from those and do better or different next time.

My disappointment today is the weather. I have had a taste of spring and I wan tit back. So when life gives us lemons do we make lemonade or do we pout about how sour the lemons are?

